Our Board

The CBBC Board is made up of senior business people from companies with a strong China interest. They represent a wide variety of business sectors and work for large, as well as small and medium sized companies. The Board brings a wealth of China business expertise to the work of CBBC.

List of Board Members


Sir Sherard Cowper-Coles KCMG LVO, Group Head of Public Affairs, HSBC Holdings Plc


Mr Gordon Orr, John Swire and Sons Ltd
Mr David Sayer, Vice Chairman Financial Services & UK Board Member, KPMG
Mr Duncan Clark OBE, Chairman, BDA (China) Ltd

Chief Executive

Mr Matthew Rous

Board Members

Mr Kenneth Macpherson, Chief Executive Officer, Europe, Middle East, Asia and Africa, InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) 
Ms Catherine Li, CEO, Asia Pacific, EDPM; Leader, APAC Regional Crisis Management Team (RCMT), Atkins 
Mr David Roth, CEO of The Store, EMEA and Asia (the WPP Global Retail Practice) and Chairman BAV Group
Mr Philip Thomson, President of Global Affairs, GSK
Mr Ed Salt, Managing Director, Delamere Dairy
Mr Jonathan Bewes, Vice Chairman, Corporate and Institutional Banking, Standard Chartered Bank
Dr David Pilsbury, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Coventry University
Dr Zhi Shengke, Director, Strategy and Development, Wood
Sir Charles Bowman, Senior Partner & Chairman of China Business Group, PwC
Ms Sharon Cheng, Investment Director, Clyde Blowers Capital IM LLP
Mr Neil Sampson, Head of International Business & Partner, Rosenblatt
Mr Simon Yang, bp China president &  senior vice president, bp

Co-Opted Members

Ms Joy Isaacs, Founder & CEO, Argentum Apothecary Ltd
Mr Peter Hirst, Senior Partner, Clyde & Co
Mr Trevor Millett, Vice President International Strategy and Business Development,  Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc.
Mr Paul Kelleher,  APAC Regional Director, Diageo Singapore Pte Ltd
Mr Ed Holroyd Pearce, Director, CRCC Asia Ltd

Appointed Observers 

Mr John Edwards, HM Trade Commissioner for China, Department for International Trade
Mr Rupert Ainley, Head of China Department, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office
Dr Adam Marshall, Director General, British Chambers of Commerce
Mr St. John Moore, Chairman, British Chamber of Commerce in China
Mr Fang Wenjian, Chairman, China Chamber of Commerce in the UK
Mr Guy Dru Drury MBE, China Chief Representative, Confederation of British Industry

Other related content