Our Board

The CBBC Board is made up of senior business people from companies with a strong China interest. They represent a wide variety of business sectors and work for large, as well as small and medium sized companies. The Board brings a wealth of China business expertise to the work of CBBC. Senior representatives of UK Trade & Investment and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office sit on the Board as observers. Board members assist by leading CBBC projects or sectoral work.


Lord Sassoon, Kt, Executive Director - Matheson & Co Ltd


Miss Clare Pearson, International Development Director, DLA Piper
Mr Graham Cartledge CBE DL, Chairman, Benoy
Mr Peter Batey CMG OBE, Chairman, Vermilion Partners Ltd
Sir Tom Troubridge, Chairman China Business Group, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Chief Executive

Mr Stephen Phillips

Board Members

Mr Neil Sampson, Partner, Rosenblatt
Sir Sherard Cowper-Coles KCMG LVO, Senior Adviser to the Group Chairman & Group CEO, HSBC Holdings Plc
Mr Duncan Clark OBE, Chairman, BDA (China) Limited
Mr Gordon Orr, Chairman, Westchel
Mr Kenneth Macpherson, Chief Executive, InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) Greater China
Prof. Chris Rudd, Pro Vice Chancellor & Provost, The University of Nottingham Ningbo China (UNNC)
Mr Philip Bouverat, Director, JCB
Mr Graham Curren, Chief Executive Officer, Sondrel Ltd
Mr John McLean OBE FCA, Chairman, China Food Company Plc
Mr Andrew Lambert, Director, Electronic Media Services Ltd
Mr Mark Wilson, President - Aromatics Asia and China O&D, BP (China) Holding Ltd
Ms Bridget Walsh, Global Transaction Tax Leader, EY

Co-Opted Members

Ms Tracy Clarke, CEO Europe and Americas, Standard Chartered Bank
Mr David King, Managing Partner, Iris Worldwide
Ms Catherine Li, Director - Strategy and Alliances - Asia Pacific, Atkins
Ms Jo Lusby, Managing Director - North Asia,Penguin Random House
Dr Andrew Moss, President, GKN China
Mr Philip Thomson, Senior Vice President - Communications and Government Affairs, GSK

Appointed Observers

Mr Matt James, Managing Director - Commercial, Department for International Trade
Ms Kate White, Head of China Department, Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Mr Guy Dru Drury, China Chief Representative, Confederation of British Industry
Mr Jeff Cao, Head of Asia Pacific, London & Partners
Mr David Riches, Executive Director - Commercial, Trade and Marketing, British Chambers of Commerce
Mr Bingjun Si, Chairman, China Enterprise Association of Britain
Mr Richard Han, Chairman, British Chambers of Commerce Southwest China